The Hunger Games Trilogy

Posted: January 24, 2015 in Books
Tags: , , ,

I love to read for the adventures that books take me on, and for the characters that I get to meet. This year I have taken the  2015 Reading Challenge to add a new level of variety to my reading choices. I get to check off another one of the boxes: A Trilogy.

I’m pretty late to the party, but I just finished Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games trilogy. The first book in the series, The Hunger Games, was released in 2008 but I really had no interest in reading YA. I finally read it, because it was picked as this month’s bookclub read. Man was I hooked! I couldn’t stop! I finished the first book and jumped right into the second book in the series, Catching Fire. And the the third, Mockingjay. I wasn’t expecting the depth of emotions that I felt throughout the series, especially not YA. It has really made me rethink the generalization I have of YA novels.

Author Suzanne Collins has created a classic dystopia: districts of dehumanized citizens forced into backbreaking labor and barely surviving each day, a totalitarian government led by the heartless President Snow that strives to crush the tiniest glimmer of individuality and independence in the districts, and a failed revolution that led to the creation of the annual Hunger Games to punish each district. I love dystopian novels, they sure do make me appreciate my cold root beer and cozy bed so very much.

Leave a Reply

