Author Interview with Patty G. Henderson

Posted: December 1, 2014 in Books
Tags: , ,

As you probably already know, I love to read. I read all kinds of stuff and have many favorite authors…is it possible to have multiple favorites? I mean favorite means the bestest one, but this is my blog and I can have multiple favorites. Anyway, I am always on the lookout for authors capable of developing a great novel with lesbian characters. Author Sarah Waters has set the bar high in this very small sub-genre. I stumbled across a new author (well, new to me) that really captured my attention. Patty G. Henderson. Her novels are filled with the dark beauty and imagery of the Gothic era.

I recently had the opportunity to ask Patty about her obvious love of this period.

I love the language of the past. I love the elegance, pomp and circumstance, the flicker and shadows of candlelight, the fabrics and dress, the love and reverence of complex architecture, the façade of morality. That being said, there were also very distasteful things of that era that no modern woman would abide or survive. Personally, I’m drawn to that past because I like running away from technology, the cold look and feel of steel and plastic, the incessant noise of our 21st century. I often muse how the world would sound without airplanes flooding our ears and skies, cars, televisions blaring, cell phones ringing. Writing is my time machine, it takes me to the precise time and place I belong.

Like most genre fiction such as science fiction, fantasy, supernatural, etc., the Gothic historical seeks to take the reader to a different place. No, not to the furthest reaches of outer space, or a fantasy land made up within an author’s mind. The Gothic romance seeks to take you back, back to a time you must equally imagine, for we cannot time travel. The author must populate the Gothic romance with mystery, intrigue, old and menacing castles or estates, characters who are as real as any modern day story. The author must draw the reader to that time and place. I love creating that.

Also, all my Gothic romances are homages to the old Gothic romances from the 1960s and 70s.

You can read the entire interview here.

Leave a Reply

