A little about literary me

Posted: August 23, 2014 in Misc

(In my best Julie Andrews voice)

Getting to know you,
Getting to know all about you.
Getting to like you,
Getting to hope you like me.

I got this idea from 210darryl and thought I would adapt it slightly. It’s a list of bookish questions I will answer about myself so that youJulieAndrews can get to know me a little better..and hopefully get you to like me.

1. Favorite childhood book:  Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH is a book that I read over and over in my childhood.  So many times the I remember the cover coming off and STILL reading it again.

2. What are you reading right now: I am reading Hollow City by Ransom Riggs, the second novel of Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series.  I’m not typically a YA genre reader, but the first book just sucked me in so completely that I had to pick up the second book the moment I finished the first.

3. Bad book habits: Is there such a thing as a bad book habit?

4. Do you have an e-reader: YES! For a long time I swore that I couldn’t, wouldn’t, daren’t give up the feel and smell of a traditional book.  But then I gave it a try, just a little test drive…and I LOVED it. I loved that I could carry my thousand page fantasy novels around in my pocket, anywhere and everywhere. I love that I can highlight passages that stand out to me to reference later.  And I LOVE that I can touch a word I do not yet know and get the definition … BOOM … right then and there.

5. Do you prefer to read one book at a time or several at once: I can read multiple at once if needed, but I PREFER to give all of my attention to one set of characters and the story we are living together.

6. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog: My first instinct was to say no. But I spent a little more time thinking about this one and I realized that yes, I do think my habits have changed. I think more about what the author has to say in his crafted story more than just the book on the surface level. I think about how much time a particularly great scene may have taken to perfect, and I can appreciate fantastic character development more.

7. A book  you expected to like but didn’t: The Buntline Special by Mike Resnick was a disappointment to me. I love Steampunk. I love the historical fiction. I love the wild wild west.  So OF COURSE I thought I would love a book that covered all of these.  But I didn’t.  It fell flat.

8. A book you didn’t expect to like but did: The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty was quite a surprise to me. I read this as a part of a book club and so I begrudgingly read it.  But I REALLY REALLY liked it!  The author’s writing is like butter, so smooth and effortless I couldn’t put it down.

9. Are there any books you have avoided reading: Yes, one in particular.  A Memory of Light by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson.  This is the final book on the Wheel of Time series and I don’t want it to be over. I feel that I have grown up with these characters, and I am terrified to face the end with them.

10. Favorite film adaptation of a book: Well, this may be cheating as it is not a film, but I am really digging the Game of Thrones series on HBO.

11. Most disappointing film adaptation of a book: Stardust by Neil Gaiman.  This book was fantastically fantasy, and the movie was so so bad that we (that’s me and another person, not a royal we) couldn’t sit through the whole thing.

12. Favorite Biography: Babylon Confidential: A Memoir of Love, Sex & Addiction by/about Claudia Christian. She bares her soul to all who will read her story in hopes spreading hope and compassion on the disease of alcoholism.

 

Well I guess that’s enough for now. I’ll post some more another time.

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

