An Anniversary of Sorts

Posted: November 11, 2013 in Health
Tags: ,

About this time a year ago, my whole world collapsed. All the walls I had spent 35 years meticulously building were no longer keeping the pain out, but they were keeping love and acceptance out. I felt alone, hopeless, and helpless. I couldn’t face even one more day. I was broken.

Then I asked for help. I begged for it. I craved it. I realized, through weeks of individual and group therapy, that I mattered. With all my flaws, weaknesses, imperfections, and quirks…I mattered. I matter.

I survived. And I am thriving. Every day I wake up excited to see my family and smell the morning air, eager to go to work and face a new challenge.

I haven’t made it this far with duct tape and paperclips. I have had amazing support system, both pushing me to grow and comforting me while I heal.

It was both a difficult and enlightening year; I learned about life and living in this scary, crazy, unpredictable, imperfect world.

Comments
  1. Karen says:

    Congratulations! You did the right thing at the right time and you – carry on. This is a valuable achievement. 🙂

  2. amediablogger says:

    I hear you. Thank you for this personal post.

Leave a Reply

