40 Days and Nights

Posted: October 15, 2013 in Health
Tags: , ,

In a little over 40 days we go on our biggest GeoCaching adventure yet. The excitement on Team Storey is great. As is my anxiety of being prepared for the physicality of the excursion. I am not setting myself up for a battle with the scale, but for a Battle of the Bulge instead.

3500 calories burned = 1 pound loss. It’s harder to judge how many calories I will need to expend to lose an inch of fat.  But whatever it is, it doesn’t include eating snickers and drinking soda.

Is assigning a specific poundage-loss goal more effective than an abstract desire to simply feel better? I know that in 40 days I won’t be shredded, I will never be fit for a Sports Illustrated spread; I accept that as my reality. In My Matrix, however, I feel good, really good. And so I will.

Sweat.

Meditation.

Control.

40 days. 40 nights.

image

"What's a motto with you?"

Comments
  1. RStorey says:

    Disappointed in myself. I have not made this happen in My Matrix….yet. But that is the great thing about tomorrow; it is tomorrow, and a brand new day. Tomorrow is a blank page just waiting the words of my life.

  2. Tara says:

    I’m reading through your blog (hi! Thanks for sending me a question! I’m answering it right now for a post on Sunday!) and I just had to comment on this. BECAUSE I’M ALSO A GEOCACHING NERD! I got my whole family addicted, and my mom now requires us to go every year on mother’s day because she can drag us up whatever crazy hill she wants and we aren’t allowed to complain. One year we had to do it in kayaks. Did you ever make it on your adventure?

    • RStorey says:

      Hello! Yes, the adventure was fun but was kind of a GeoCaching bust. As I’m sure you have experienced, it happens. The series that we were hoping to undertake was now off limits. We picked up a few one-offs but overall it was more a relaxing vacation, which is also nice.

Leave a Reply

