Basic Maintenance

Posted: September 28, 2013 in My Matrix, Post Apocalyptic
Tags: , ,

I recently made my final car payment, and I hope to get another 5 years out of it, at least.

In my Valuable and Practical Skills article I mentioned my lack of automotive understanding. I wasn’t exaggerating, I knew how to pop the hood and add windshield fluid. An example of my ignorance: I had no idea that you can hose all that stuff under the hood down to clean out the dirt and grime. Keeping it clean in there then helps you to see if/when you have leaks. After a couple hours with my cousin today, I feel fairly confident that I can help extend the life of my Toyota. He was patient and respectful as he walked me through everything from the Alternator to Water pump; explaining the function, symptoms to watch for, and how to care for it.

Aside from the practical application of the knowledge I gained today, I feel empowered. I drive this machine everyday, and now I have anĀ  understanding of how it works. Keeping up with the regular oil changes and services is of utmost importance, but knowing that I can detect a minor issue before it becomes a big issue and I am left stranded somewhere gives me peace of mind. Especially in the middle of a zombie apocalypse.

A BIG SHOUT OUT TO MY COUSIN NATE!

Leave a Reply

