Valuable and Practical Skills

Posted: August 27, 2013 in Post Apocalyptic
Tags: , ,

Inspired by Colin M. Drysdale’s post entitled Preserving Knowledge, my imagination really took off.

In this world I live in today, I have hundreds of skills, some are common and some are not: writing SQL queries; setting up shows to record on my DVR; using a washing machine; make coffee with just the right amount of cream and sugar; I’m sure there are more, I just can’t think of any right now. Anyway, my point is, I got from Point A to Point B and accomplished XYZ today because of these skills. If the world goes bonkers tomorrow, I have nothing. Right now, I am in the magical world if IT, we make things work…things with code. When the oil rig roughnecks, hunters and mechanics become the elite, I will become useless…and uselessness leads to extinction.

I love learning. So, why don’t I put that passion to use learning skills? Not just how to survive, skinning a rabbit and building a fire, but how to live. I thought I would gather a list of skills that will be valuable should the need arises and cross reference it with practical skills I can utilize in my real life.

Mechanic
I will be honest with you, I should probably have my lesbian card revoked…I have never even seen the underside of my car. I haven’t even changed the tire, although I think I could do that if I never needed to (knock, knock, knock on wood).

I would like to start with the basics, changing the oil. It’s so easy and quick to stop at the closest lube shop, and they have an established disposal system. Perhaps one day in the cooler months I will bribe my mechanic cousin to come and give me an entry level introduction.

Another skill that could be important if I had to jump into the first available vehicle is how to drive a stick shift. Ages ago I tried, for about 4 minutes…I was like 12, don’t look at me that way. I don’t think I know anyone at present that drives a stick to help learn. But I think there might be schools for that…I need to investigate this a little more.

Gardening
Vegetation dies when I touch them; grass, flowers, plants, trees. I killed a cactus once. Animals? Now I am great with animals…but just can’t get vegetation to come around. It would be nice if I could step into my back yard and pick a bit of broccoli, or pluck a juicy apple. My grandmother could plant a rock and a raspberry bush would pop out. I love my grandmother dearly and I know she would love to pass along years of experience if I only ask.

Aside from learning how to successfully plant my own’stuff’, be it a corner lot or a flower pot, knowing what is edible when walking through the woods is a skill every GeoCacher (discussion for another time) should have in their bag of grey matter. I’m sure there are some sort of guides that can help me learn, I need to look into.

Fishing
I used to go fishing with my grandpa (miss you grandpa), but it really just consisted of me holding a pole and watching its bobber and talking. I have never liked fish, but not liking something is different than not eating the only thing available. I wish, I wish, I wish. I wish I had embrased the time I had with him. 

Which bait for what fish?
What fish are found in different regions?
How do I clean all the fish I’m going to catch?

I have cousins that enjoy fishing…I’m not sure I can trust them to not dump me out of the boat. I also have a nephew in some sort of fishing club through school and he keeps winning tournaments, and he wouldn’t intentionally dunk me…that sounds like a better plan.

I will say that there are plenty of skills that I don’t possess and don’t really see myself pursuing. Do I need to know how to fire a gun if the world goes crazy? Maybe, maybe not. As the all wise Xena to Gabrielle “the moment you pick up a weapon you become a target.” I’m not going to lay down and die, but a gun isn’t my style.

I like this topic. I would love to hear you practical skills list.

Comments
  1. Ethan Storey says:

    Omg (oh my geocache) that was amazing i love how you write you should be a writer. love you!

Leave a Reply

