Lost Cultures

Posted: August 21, 2013 in Books
Tags: , ,

image

ALERT ALERT
This is a judgment free zone. I have no agenda or soapbox with this post.

I am a history geek – well let’s face it, I’m all kinds of geeky. Seeing a map like this ignites my passion to learn about these people that are gone; to know the stories they passed through the generations. I find it amazing how many cultures and languages existed. Europeans have a better concept of this that I do living here in the United States.

I will be honest with you, I do feel a loss for humanity that these societies have largely been lost. There are lost cultures around the world, but obviously these have more leave me with a greater sense of longing being the land I live in.

The First North Americans series by husband and wife co-authors W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O’Neal Gear have contributed to the legacy of many of these people. While a fictional series, these authors have done their archeological homework when developing their characters and societies. I very much enjoy these books, and while I know they are largely fictional, each book gives me a glimpse into what life was like in these areas of North America.

Comments
  1. Monica Storey says:

    Zzzzzzzz….haha. Just kidding Love 🙂 I love your Geekness 🙂

  2. jokelly65 says:

    great post.. I would recommend Moonies “history, Myth, and Sacred ceremonies of the Cherokee” its not of course fiction, but it is one good book to read to get a good glimpse of the Cherokee back in the late 1800’s to 1921.

    • RStorey says:

      Thank you! I will indeed check these out. All of my blood comes from the British Empire and northern Europe, so I have no familial ties to these peoples. ..only spiritual.

Leave a Reply

