The Internship

Posted: June 7, 2013 in Movies
Tags: ,

Comedies are a gamble for me: I don’t find slap stick 3 Stooges bits funny; I don’t like kick your best friend in the testicles pranks; I will never find humiliation of others humorous. The Adam Sandlers, JackAsses and Sacha Baron Cohens of modern comedic cinema have their loyal audiences, but I am not among them.

I do love a good comedy though. It has to make me work for the punch line, I don’t like to be spoon fed a joke and then have it shoved down my throat over and over to convince me it is funny. I appreciate observation and application and originality.

The Internship could easily have become forced, however Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson delivered wit and sarcasm effortlessly. Blending sharp one liners with well choreographed events created one of the best comedies I have watched in a long time. Pay attention and you will hear references from a multitude of geek lore. That is what makes a good movie.

4 out of 4 thumbs up.

Comments
  1. Monica S. says:

    Well said. 🙂

Leave a Reply

