Inferno by Dan Brown

Posted: May 29, 2013 in Books
Tags: ,

Dan Brown has once again brought us an action-packed adventure with the latest in the Robert Langdon series, “Inferno”; blending historical figures, literary allegories, and futuristic science into a non-stop chase thrill ride. In “Inferno”, Langdon is once again in a race against the clock to save lives. Every moment themed around Dante Alighieri’s epic poem “Divine Comedy”, Robert Langdon must try to decipher morbid hallucinations, leading to an unknown terror, while being hunted, and suffering amnesia from the last 48 hours of his life.

I am a huge Robert Langdon fan. I know he is only a character, but after 4 terrifying adventures with him I think we’re on pretty good terms.  Using an amazing rolodex of “mental-stuff”, Langdon amazes me with his powers of observation and deduction, all while maintaining a high level of decorum.  Even when confronted with his deepest fear Robert remains in control.

Dan Brown manages to provoke both disgust and compassion for his antagonist; a wealthy, and unstable, genius scientist. In typical Dan Brown fashion, he uses valid fears of global overpopulation to unsettle the audience, and then provides an extremist’s solution for population control that can almost be rationalized.

Of the 4 installations in the Robert Langdon series, Lost Symbol is my most favorite and I will say that Inferno is my least favorite. The fault does not lie with Dan Brown’s writing; it is just the fact that I had a stronger connection to the themes of the other novels than I did with Inferno.

Comments
  1. web comics says:

    Thanks for the good little piece guided toward comic books and graphic novels.I’m keeping this one for a while, I’ve just book marked https://storeyonastory.wordpress.com/2013/05/29/inferno-by-dan-brown/ at Digg.com that my pals can easily see it also. I basically applied Inferno by Dan Brown | Storey on a Story Blog for the blog title as the bookmark, because I figured if it is sufficiently good as the title on your blog site post that, then you most probably choose to see it bookmarked similarly.

Leave a Reply

