“ The Minister’s cat is a coccygodynious cat.” – Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon

Posted: October 22, 2010 in Books
Tags: , , ,

Drums of Autumn is the fourth installment in the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon.  In this tale, our beloved Jamie and Claire decide to create a life for themselves in the American colonies.  Settling in the Carolina mountains on Frasier’s Ridge, Jamie calls to fellow Scotts to his Frasier’s Ridge to claim land to work as their very own. Back in the 20th century, Brianna discovers an article about her parents in a Carolina newspaper announcing their deaths when their cabin burned down.  Fearful for their fates, Brianna makes the decision to try to go through the rocks and make her way to the Colonies to warn her parents.  Upon discovering what Brianna has done, her fiancé Roger Wakefield McKenzie also goes through the rocks and follows her.  A Comedy of Errors ensues…without the comedy. So I guess it would be more of a drama of errors.

The Jamie and Claire we had grown to love and care about in Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber are back with us in Drums of Autumn.  In Voyager I felt…well I suppose that it is really what I DIDN’T feel that caused my dislike for Voyager. I just felt that Dianna Gabaldon wrote our beloved Jamie and Claire as flat, two-dimensional characters instead of living breathing people. I couldn’t feel their emotions; I didn’t even care about their fate when they found themselves in yet another sticky life-or-death situation.   But Drums of Autumn brings me back into the fold; I again am emotionally invested in these characters’ lives. I wanted to scream at them a time or two, laugh with them, and comfort them in their pain.  THAT is the sign of a well written story. With the last words finished, I immediately needed more.

Onward and upward to The Fiery Cross!

Comments
  1. sjhigbee says:

    I’ve only read the first instalment of this interesting series, so was pleased to read your overview of the rest of the books.

Leave a Reply

