“It gets harder; going through the first time was the most terrible thing I’d ever had happened to me. Coming back was a thousand times worse.” – Voyager by Diana Gabaldon

Posted: September 13, 2010 in Books
Tags: , , , , ,

Voyager is the third installation in the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. At the end of Dragonfly in Amber, Jamie’s rag-tag group of Scottish highlanders decided there was no other choice but to fight in Charles Stuart’s ‘rising’ of 1745.  Knowing that the Jacobite army would be slaughtered, Jamie convinced a pregnant Claire to go back through the stones where she would be safe.  Believing Jamie dead, Claire was distraught throughout her pregnancy and delivery of a baby girl.  Twenty years later, she and her daughter Brianna return to Scotland to investigate what happened at Culloden and discovered that Jamie had not actually been killed in the battle.

In Voyager, we find out what happened to both Claire and Jamie since they were separated: how Jamie survived the battle and how Frank treated Claire after her return. With the knowledge that Jamie had survived the battle, Claire searches further to find him…and find him she does; as a printer in Edinburgh.  Leaving her daughter behind, she decides to step through the stones one more time.

I loved the first two books and was filled with so much anticipation when Claire found Jamie in his print shop.  This scene should have been pure magic, but instead this scene was quite a letdown.  “It’s me, Claire.”  It killed the mood that Diana was trying to create. Claire should have simply said “Hello Jamie”, the knowing of that voice freezing every muscle in Jamie’s body and thought in his head; slowly turning to see the face that has haunted him every night for 20 years.

Don’t get me wrong.  The rest of the story was fun, adventurous and entertaining.  But the spell that was spun in Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber has been broken.   I will continue the series as long as the library continues to have the audio books on CD, giving me something to listen to at work.  But I won’t invest my free time or money in furthering the trials of Claire and Jamie.

Comments
  1. KDawg says:

    The reunion in the print shop…. I thought it was magnificently written. It broke my heart how vulnerable Claire was, and so desperately hopeful… it had been 20 years. She didn’t know if Jaime would recognize her, and still want her, or if he was married, in love with another woman…. I empathized with her from the depths of my soul through the entire scene. As much as I am completely and utterly in love with a version of Jaime in my own life, if I were away from him for 20 years, I can only imagine the hesitation I’d feel.

    • RStorey says:

      I just feel that even with the insecurity, the hesitation, the wondering what his life is like now…he would never ever forget the sound of her voice. She might as well have walked in, saw Jamie’s standing there with his back to her and she ask “Is that you Jamie?” She has thought about every inch of him for 20 years, every feature. She’s not going to forget what he looks or sounds like. Same for Jamie.

      Good thing for Diana that there are readers that diasgree with me, huh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

